Mr. Thomas W. (Tommy) Ranson, CBO - Building Official


Ms. Lexi Burgess, Building Inspections/Zoning

The primary purpose of the Building Inspector's Office is to ensure that all structures and buildings established and built in the County of Buckingham follow all policies, guidelines, ordinances, and statutes set by the County of Buckingham, the Commonwealth of Virginia, and any other governing body.


Schedule an Inspection

To schedule any type of inspection with the Inspector; whether electrical, final, or foundation, you must call 434.969.4243. The Administrative Assistant will set up an appointment with you and the Inspector.


Permits and Forms


Newly Adopted Radon Measures

The Board of Supervisors recently amended the Building Inspection Ordinance to include radon resistant construction and detection. Click Here to see the changes.


County Building Ordinances

Click here to view the recently amended Building Inspection Ordinance


Statewide Building Codes and Regulations

The new 2015 Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Codes become effective on September 4, 2019. Any building permit applications submitted on or after September 4, 2019 will be subject to the 2015 codes. For information regarding the 2015 Building Codes, please refer to the following links:

USBC Administrative Code:

2015 Virginia Construction Code:[]=Current+Adoption&page=1


Our Location/Facility

The Buckingham County Administration Building is located on US Route 60 approximately 2/10 (two-tenths) of a mile east of the Buckingham County Courthouse.  The Buckingham County Health Department and the Buckingham Department of Social Services are also located in this building. This building houses the following Constitutional officers and county departments: County Administrator, Treasurer, Commissioner of Revenue, animal control, building inspection, zoning, utilities, recreation, solid waste, Planning Commission, and industrial development.


Board of Supervisors

Mr. Don Matthews | District 3 (Chairman)

Mr. T. Jordan Miles | District 4 (Vice-Chairman)

Mr. Dennis Davis | District 1

Mr. Donnie Bryan | District 2

Mr. Harry W. Bryant | District 5 (Chairman)

Mr. Joe Chambers | District 6

Mr. Danny R. Allen | District 7

Get in Touch

(434) 969-4242

13380 West James Anderson Hwy
Buckingham, VA 23921

Hours of Business

8:30 am -4:30 p.m.