Mrs. Rebecca Carter - Zoning/Planning Administrator


The Office of the Zoning and Planning Administrator processes all zoning requests and issues, permits (including special-use), handles all zoning and planning inquiries, and works with the Planning Commission.


Frequently Asked Questions -- Dividing Property and Building Homes

Planning Commission Packet and Minutes from previous meetings.

Buckingham County Zoning Ordinance

Atlantic Coast Pipeline Floodplain Data Permit Information


Permits and Forms


Planning Commission By-Laws

BY-LAWS Buckingham County Planning Commission


The Comprehensive Plan

Download the new Buckingham County Comprehensive Plan.


County Ordinances

Complete Ordinance Book



Zoning Permit for WCF

Telecommunication Master Plan


Planning Commission 

Planning Commission Meeting Schedule 2018


Meet the Planning Commission

The Buckingham County Planning Commission consists of commissioners appointed by the county Board of Supervisors. This commission consists of seven appointed persons and a Board of Supervisors representative. The Zoning Administrator/Clerk to the Commission is the person who carries out requests of the commission.


District 2   (White Hall Precinct) | Royce E. Charlton, III, Chairman

District 5  (Wrights and Glenmore Precincts) | Sammy Smith, Vice Chairman

District 1  (Gold Hill Precinct) | Alice Gormus

District 3  (Curdsville & New Store Precincts) | R. Patrick Bowe

District 4  (Maysvile Precinct) | James D. Crews, Sr.

District 7  (New Canton Precinct) | John Bickford,

District 6  (Slate River Precinct) | Chet Maxey


Board of Supervisors Representative | Bobby Jones


Our Location/Facility

The Buckingham County Administration Building is located on US Route 60 approximately 2/10 (two-tenths) of a mile east of the Buckingham County Courthouse.  The Buckingham County Health Department and the Buckingham Department of Social Services are also located in this building. This building houses the following Constitutional officers and county departments: County Administrator, Treasurer, Commissioner of Revenue, animal control, building inspection, zoning, utilities, recreation, solid waste, Planning Commission, and industrial development.


Board of Supervisors

Mr. Donnie Bryan | District 2 (Chairman)

Mr. Harry W. Bryant | District 5 (Vice Chairman)

Mr. Robert Jones | District 1

Mr. Don Matthews | District 3

Mr. Morgan Dunnavant | District 4

Mr. Joe Chambers | District 6

Mr. Danny R. Allen | District 7

Get in Touch

(434) 969-4242

13380 West James Anderson Hwy
Buckingham, VA 23921